bike help!!

mrham
mrham Posts: 11
edited October 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi i'm new to using forums so not sure if what i'm doing is right I need some advice and help i recently got back into mountain biking with a friend and i bought my self a gt avalanche 2 now i'm looking to upgrade i really love my bike and one bike shop has said stick with hardtail much more fun just upgrade ur forks and brakes etc another shop has said don't bother doing anything till lost weight and another has said why upgrade my forks when he can offer me a brand new 2007 mongoose canaan team for 800 quid i really love my bike and i do want to upgrade but do i get forks for my gt or do i buy a full sus??? and is that bike worth that price and will it suit me i'm 6'2 and 17 stone i like trail centres and peak district?? any help would be really appreiciated

Comments

• kja
    kja Posts: 259
    Best place for this sort of advice would be the MTB beginners section. I'd suggest upgrade the forks on your current bike. Hardtails are the way ahead for winter, less maintainence and less to go wrong!
  • bluechair84
    bluechair84 Posts: 4,352
    I'd only bother with a full suss if you feel the HT is holding you back on rough terrain. There are swings and roundabouts for each though the Mongoose sus design is very pedal friendly (had a Teocali). Most people seem to suggest that full sus is getting to the point where it more than makes up for efficiency loses compared with a HT and it's the way forward. I certainly prefer FS.
    I'd recommend making a few upgrades until you feel the hardtail can't cope with how fast you want to go over technical terrain, and the Canaan should be great (by the way, bike tech has come a long way in four years! It might be a 'new' bike, but the parts you upgrade to will probably be a lot better).
  • mrham