Should I keep this or ebay it off?!

Gibbo3771
Gibbo3771 Posts: 145
edited October 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi,

I just got a hold of a brand new carrera vengeace 2011 for £220. I have read a little bit on the internet about it and it seems a good bike from the reviews, but who knows....those people are probably riding it along roads and tarmac.

In here however, is where the true bikers lurk :p (i hope :s )

How is the vengeance offroad? I have rode it a few times on tarmac and road and then also tried it on a landrover track about 5 miles from my house in the rain and it is my first time trying offroad MTB so it was rather difficult lol.

I have the option to sell this bike for pretty much retail price, 20 quid give or take.

On these forums its all talk about specialized bike gear, fox shocks (lolwut?) and fancy stuff....I feel as if my bike doesent have any of this lol, it feels cheap :(

Whats your opinions on this bike?

So far from my newb review...

Cons:
Gears seem to slip (maybe cables need 4-5 weeks to settle and stretch)
Saddle honestly gives anal destruction, even on the flattest roads
No rear suspension (called shocks?) but apparently hardtails are preffered for more of a challange
The handlebar grips, dont really grip. If they arent hurting my hands they are falling off
Heavy stock wheels?

Pros:

Responsive breaks imo, even when wet
Front suspension is bouncy but not too bouncy, adjustable afaik..no idea on brand
Frame paintjob looks pretty mint lol

Thats my view so far, help me out a bit and recieve free cookies :D

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    For the money you got a bargain. Sounds like it needs some readjustment - and saddles are easy to change.

I'd keep it, and in the future think about upgrading the forks.
  • Grips are easy enough to change! Superstar components - you can get a great set for about £10.