What to use for extra energy on the move?

bandsawman
bandsawman Posts: 39
edited November 2011 in Road beginners
I'm relatively new to road riding, and most of my cycling is the commute.
It's 11 miles, with a few hills, I'm riding a single-speed, it takes me 40 mins, and I work 12 hour shifts (days and nights), so my energy levels are a bit unpredictable. Sometimes I can ride into work feeling like I could ride forever, then riding home I've got no energy...
I've been learning a lot about pre-ride nutrition, and I feel I'm finally getting the hang of it, but sometimes it still isn't enough. I've started eating fig rolls on route and I think they may be helping, but I'm not sure. The problem with eating these is the fumbling around for them in the bag in my jersey pocket, and then they leave a residue in the mouth etc, which all affects the concentration.

Should I not simply be adding something sugary to my drink? Or maybe sucking on a boiled sweet?

This nutrition stuff's doing my head in!

Comments

• On the days you feel the need for energy try a sports drink before you start your cycle
  • you can buy energy sweets, kind of like jelly beans or wine gums, something like this

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/jelly-belly-spo ... -24-x-28g/

infact some peeps on here have said they take wine gums
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
    momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.
  • kylemalco wrote:
    On the days you feel the need for energy try a sports drink before you start your cycle
    For instance?
  • I work nights and day shifts and find energy levels can be a problem if you do not plan ahead,especially if like me you get different levels of overtime every day .
    What works for me is having something to eat regularly at every break opportunity rather than eating a big meal at one designated meal time.A bannana/ small cereal bar works for me around 2 hours before i finish.