First 100 mile sportive coming up, advice please!!

Hi, just got into road cycling, have had my CAAD8 105 for about 3 months now and love it!!
I've been cycling locally and usually do about 35miles. I've done a couple of 50 milers no problem and have entered a wiggle 100mile sportive which takes place on the 23rd October.
This is quite a daunting task but i'm really getting into the cycling and wanted a challenge.
I'm probably going to be in the saddle for about 6.5 to 7 hours so would chamois cream be advised. I've never used it but just wondered if it would help with protecting my delicate tush!!
Also wondering about food/energy drinks. I've been using the High 5 race packs which seem to have done the job so far but i wondered if anyone knows what the feeding stations are like on wiggle rides (do they provide drinks, gels, bars etc?)
Any other useful advice for this would be welcome as i'm a total novice.
Sorry to waffle but this is my first post so i thought i put in my two pence worth!!

Comments

• thegibdog
    thegibdog Posts: 2,106
    Get a couple of 70-80 mile rides in before the sportive and see how you go. They should give you an idea of what you'll need fuelling wise and whether you need chamois cream or not and it's not much of a step from there to 100 miles. I assume Wiggle will provide food & drink but it's always useful to have some of your own in case they run out.
  • The key to doing a 100 miler is variation in the food that you eat, and eating and drinking little and often. The foods you might enjoy on a 35/50mile bike ride will become very boring after the tenth bar...

Have a large bowl of porridge in the morning and on the ride vary your food between solid carb bars, some flapjacks and gels (a couple with caffine in them).

As for chamois cream, I've never used it - as long as you have a decent pair of cycling shorts and have done a few 50mile plus rides, you shoul dbe fine.

Good luck!
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756