TTing advice

free
free Posts: 567
edited September 2011 in Amateur race
Guys,

After spending the best part of a year deliberating I've decided that Time Trials is something I really want to do.

I've spent most of this summer on my road bike and have made my own 10 mile route and have been timing myself, pushing my fitness and intend to spend the winter really focusing my training.

Anyway, as a complete newbie to TT I just wanted some general advice on getting started. Obviously I need to join a club and enter their club races - my nearest is the Towcester A5 Ranger who have TT's on a Wednesday evening during the summer.

As I intend to lay down some cash on a decent spec TT bike and kit I don't just want to enter small club runs (at least not long term) so really wanted to know what system existed for bigger TT events. What can you enter, where should I look to find out about meetings? What is the championship system (Regionals then Nationals?).
If you join a club are you automatically affiliated and then eligible to enter bigger events?

I realise I'm probably getting ahead of myself but as I do want to invest in TTing I'd like to be sure that there is something more out there other than just small club runs otherwise I don't see the investment as being worth it.
Think first.
Then act.
That\'s it.
My 3 point plan.
A.partridge. 1997.

Comments

• Tom Dean
    Tom Dean Posts: 1,723
    http://ctt.org.uk/

You need to be a member of a CTT affiliated club to ride CTT events.
  • I'd join your local club and do some of their evening 10's first, although it is the end of the season for those now i should think. There are also open events you can enter at weekends too.

When i first did TT racing I just put clip on TT bars on my road bike to get a feel for it. I wouldn't go out and spend loads on a dedicated TT bike first unless you can afford to.

good luck!
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR