pinguS Posts: 38
edited September 2011 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Ok so I have posted 2 seperate topics regarding hills locations and gearing

Hill Locations Berkshire
http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12802725

Shimano 105 Groupset with MTB or Triple for lighter gearing
http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12802577

Some good infomation given, but now I am wondering could it be the technique I'm using to climb hills. Currently or because I'm new to this, I basically havent done many, but was wondering, knowing every is different, which way does the majority get up, using drop handle bars.

Is it MTB style with holding the bars across, or holding the lever hoods, or holding the drop section by the brakes, or finally the end of the bars which come back towards the rider. Also is this while sitting, or going up a few gears then standing to get extra push.

I tried standing, in bottom gearing and it was not enough resistance, i.e. squashing paper cups or something, and basically ended up sitting, and not making the hill!!

I've discussed gearing in another post, see above for link.

Any advice, as lame as this sounds can help, I hope....

Comments

• Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Cycling Plus this month has an article titled Conquer That Hill - 10 Steps to Faster Climbing
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,700
    Climb more, trying each of them. What works for some won't work for all. Look at some of the pros, for example.

Pantani: Smallish gear, out of the saddle, in the drops. Very very fast.
    Ullrich: Larger gear, almost always seated, often on the flat of the bar. Also very very fast.

Personally, I do most climbs on the hoods, seated, in a medium gear. On long, steep climbs, I move my hands to the flats of the bar, as I find it easier for the low cadence seated grinding. On short steep climbs, I'll often get down on the drops and out of the saddle, in order to put out the maximum amount of power.