Giant XTC Advance SL0, Should I buy it? £4,500

irishrover
irishrover Posts: 5
edited September 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hi there,
I am very new to MTB's, I used to ride a lot when I was younger and now I do it for the excersise.

I have been offered a 2011 Giant XTC Advance SL0 (18 inch) from a local dealer at what I think is a good price but I am not sure if I should buy it. It maybe more bike than I need so I could always sell it on.

Is 4.5k cheap or the going rate for a 2011 bike, bearing in mind the 2012's are just around the corner?

Any feedback would be great.

It is Spanking new very Light still got the plastic on it.

Look forward to heaing from you all.

Dave

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    You could build a lighter bike, to your exact spec, for less, using a Whippet frame or similar.

If that doesn't appeal, and you want the Giant then yes, go nuts, you won't go wrong. Personally I couldn't spend that on a hardtail though.
  • mac_man
    mac_man Posts: 918
    Do you want to spend £4k on a bike? Have you tried it? Have you tried any others?
    It's a lot of cash to splurge on something you may not like, assuming you haven't done anything more than a ride around the car park on it...

It's your cash and you can do as you will. For all I know £4k might be pocket change to you ;-)

Personally I wouldn't spend that on a hardtail unless I was a world class Pro XC racer.... it's just totally OTT for a bike that you admit yourself is just 'for exercise'. Ultra light bikes won't necessarily last any longer than a £2k, or even £1K bike. One of the cheaper Giants will do the same job with enough cash left over for a decent foreign holiday and a weeks worth of skills training, plus bike accessories etc, etc.

Resist the urge to splurge...!!!!

Try a few bikes for a day... full suspension, hardtail, XC, all mountain... whatever you fancy. Most shops will knock off the cost of a demo from the price.

Just my 2 cents...