Sizing

Paul057
Paul057 Posts: 167
edited September 2011 in Road beginners
Can anybody tell me what kind of effects a frame that is too small would have? I've just put a deposit down on a CAAD 10 at size 56 in LBS, but after getting home and looking at the official Cannondale site, it seems i should be a size 58. At 6'1" with an inside leg of 87cm i'm firmly in the 58 bracket according to the chart, but i'm just wondering what the effects of too small a frame would be? I'm also a bit bothered that i've been fobbed off with a 56 as they have no 58's in stock.
The bike i tried in the shop felt ok to me, but i'm still pretty new to cycling, and i don't really know what i'm looking for; it seems pretty difficult to judge bike comfort after 2 mins sitting on it in the shop.
I'd be looking to do some 100 mile events on it, but i'm also hoping to start racing at some point in the (probably distant) future, and i'd be commuting on it too.
I currently have a Carrera which is definitely too small for me (i knew even less when i bought that and ended up with a 50cm frame thanks to ebay error), but to be honest i get by without too much difficulty on that - i've been commuting on it and done a 100 mile sportive with no problems.
I'm pretty flexible (if that's at all relevant?) and i suppose i'm just wondering how accurate the sizing charts are, and how much effect a slightly small frame would have on performance and comfort.
Any advice appreciated. :)

Comments

• The CAAD10 has a farly long top tube for its size. So the main difference between you on a 58 or 56 would be a large saddle to bar drop, which tends to be more uncomfortable for longer distances.

Having said that you have ridden 100 miles on your Carrera, so you may not be bothered.
  • Did you not test ride the bike? I definetly would not buy without test ride. You need to do a two hour test ride minimum.

56 may be ok but you will probably need a longer stem to extend the reach. You can safely go to 130mm stem.