Think my commuter is trying to tell me something......

Twisterboy
Twisterboy Posts: 311
edited September 2011 in Commuting chat
Hi all,

Well I've been commuting for two years on my Virage GVR which my wife purchased for me second hand for £15 nearly three years ago.

It's only cost me say £60 in tyres, brakes and pedals, bottle holder and I've covered about 850 miles on it in a year going to and from my work, just on sunday I cycled from Glasgow to Edinburgh on it, but I noticed yesterday that my sixth gear on the bike was not working and today for some bizzare reason, the rear brake just jammed on, not sure if someone tampered with it while the wife was in our local asda. Needless to say it's going to cost me about £12 to get it all fixed again, while it's not a great cost, I'm worried what will go wrong next, so when I was in the bike shop I was speaking to the chap about a potential new bike, looking at getting a Scott of some description so that I can commute to work during the week and take full advantage of the Trails ie glentress at the weekend.

The only thing I can't get out my head is that the Virage (May be a 24 inch wheel) is that in the few years I've had it, it's been a faithful bike commuting to and from work and even did me proud at pedal for scotland that I can't let it go.

What do you folks think should I move on and start looking at a new commuter or should I stick with the Virage?

If I was to purchase a new bike I would be keeping the Virage for a wee bit then slowly send it into retirement.

Cheers

David

Comments

• EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    I think I can sum up all future replys in just three characters.

N

+

You're welcome.
    FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
    FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
    FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175