Saddle height for 9 year old on 24" inch bike.

tailwindhome
tailwindhome Posts: 19,310
edited September 2011 in MTB general
Guys I have no previous MTB experience and need some advice.

Standard advice on kids bikes is that their feet should be able to touch the ground from the saddle.

Took my daughter to a local forest today for a bit of a ride round on her new Felt Q24 - a recent upgrade from her big standard 20 inch bike. She struggled* on the uphills, even on the cycle path sections. Observing her pedalling it was obvious that her saddle needed to come up to allow for a decent pedalling action.

Should I raise it?

* it's also possible she was having a whingy 9 year old day.
“New York has the haircuts, London has the trousers, but Belfast has the reason!

Comments

• Danlube
    Danlube Posts: 454
    Position should be so that the balls of the feet are in the ground. If she is struggling then most likely the front end is high with a low back end. Raise the seat and play around with the position until she finds it comfortable. Why ask here if you should raise it? We don't know how tall she is.
    Kona Tanuki Deluxe
  • Stevo_666
    Stevo_666 Posts: 60,678
    TWH,

You've got a similar problem to me.

I also have a 9 yr old who can whinge for England on bike rides and she has just got a 24" wheel Raleigh this year. I have to have the seat set low enough for her to touch the ground with her feet otherwise she falls or gets caught out when stopping (and doesn't feel comfortable not being able to touch down easily). But her lknees do come up quite a bit when pedalling though she doesn't seem to mind.