which size tyres?

woozor
woozor Posts: 117
edited September 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Guys im after some road tyres for my mtb.

Ive found these: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=24629

but I dont know which size i need. As I want to use my inner tubes from my current tyres. And again I dont know what they are either. Total noobie im afraid.

Link to my bikes tyres if it helps:

http://i1120.photobucket.com/albums/l48 ... C11080.jpg

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    26 inch tyres, max width 2.3 inches.
  • Any of the tyres in your link should fit ok. 1.5's will be slightly faster but 1.95's will be more comfortable.
  • gtd.
    gtd. Posts: 626
    I don't think you'll notice that much difference between fitting slicks and swapping your tyres over.

Racing Ralphs have a low rolling resistance so stick that on the back and the Nobby Nic on the front for improved cornering grip and just increase the tyre pressures.

I have Racing Ralphs on one bike, Schwalbe Land Cruisers (semi slicks) on my hardtail and a set of wheels with Michelin City slicks I cant tell the difference, except once when I took a short cut across some slippy wet grass and mud and fell off, if I had the ralphs or land crusiers fitted I'd have been fine.
    Mountain: Orange Patriot FR, SubZero & Evo2LE.
    Road: Tifosi Race Custom.
    Do it all bike: Surly Disc Trucker 700c/29er
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    davewalsh wrote:
    Any of the tyres in your link should fit ok. 1.5's will be slightly faster but 1.95's will be more comfortable.

This is a fallacy - wider tyres will be more comfortable and theoretically quicker. Counter-intuitive as that might sound.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • woozor
    Well I find the current tyres drag alot on the road, compared to my old bike which had dmr motos and they used to roll much better.