Building First Bike - 2006 Specialized Enduro

Solway19
Solway19 Posts: 4
edited September 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi!

I have got in to mountain bikeing over the past year or so and have a Boardman Comp HT. I recently went out with one of my mates to do some downhill on the fells, he has an enduro also. When getting fed up of being all over the place on my HT i had a go on his and was amazed! I have now bought a 2006 enduro which is an ex demo one in yellow with the standard fit rear shock.
As i am new to this game i am after some advice. My initial plan was to buy some forks and then strip the boardman and put the compatible parts on to the FS and then upgrade the parts as i can afford it and eventually end up with the hardtail back in action.
My mate is trying to talk me out of this and im confused now as he reckons its not cost effective. He has recommended the following components to look for:

Forks
Fox 36 Vans
Rock Shock Lyriks
Marzocchi 55/66's

Groupset
Shimano SLX

Rims
Sun Rims

My question, is this advice sound and is it worth looking for second hand and if so what to look out for? Any advice appreciated. Thanks in advance :?: [/u]

Comments

• diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    It always costs more to build up a bike than to buy a bike used. You can get a used 06 enduro for about £500. Even with used parts it will cost the best part of a grand to build one up.

So either dump the frame on ebay and look for a used enduro or build something special to suit what you want.

I did what you are doing a couple of years back and turned HT into full sus via with an enduro frame. I ran it for about 3 years and recently changed the frame to a stumpjumper.

Enduros are great bikes, personally I'd put some tough rims on, an RP23 shock and build the rest up as light as possible.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    What's on it at the moment, or is it just a frame?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook