Winter jacket time

Wrath Rob
Wrath Rob Posts: 2,918
edited September 2011 in Commuting general
As the nights are starting to draw in my thoughts turn away from the scorching summer we've had (yeah, right) and to the dark nights of winter. I've been using an Altura Night Vision jacket for the last 3 years but I'm thinking of investing in something better and less boil/bag. I'm drawn to the Gore Oxygen GT AS jacket but its a touch pricey. Anything else that is waterproof, windproof and as breathable as possible? Visibility is important but it doesn't have to be day-glo.
FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.

Comments

• i wouldn't wear one of those altura things for any money man. way too hot. long sleeve roubaix jersey and if chilly, a softshell gilet. its got to be lashing down before i bring out the eVent jacket (DHB). Love my GoreTex MW80 boots though.
    Cannondale BadBoy Rohloff
    Cannondale SuperSix / 11sp Chorus
    Ridley Excalibur / 10sp Centaur
    Steel Marin Bear Valley SE
    Twitter @roadbikedave
  • beverick
    beverick Posts: 3,461
    I'm on my third Night Vision jacket - I can't fault it really especially if 'proofed' with graingers or =.

I have a Gore Pact-lite for rainy commutes but despite its price (£120 or so about 5 years ago) it's about as breathable as a bin-liner. It's as close to 100% waterproof as you can get though.

I'm not too fussed on waterproofing as, in general, it's pretty pointless. I do put the emphasis on keeping warm though.

Bob
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    I used an Endura Venturi 2 last year and found it to be excellent. Good fit, breathable and plenty of zipped venting for when you are trying hard. Kept me toasty but not sweaty and in red it's reasonably visible.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX