Upgrading old Weinmann brakes on my 1983 road bike

hannahntilly
hannahntilly Posts: 10
edited February 2017 in Road buying advice
I've been riding MTBs for the last 10 years but I'm now trying to recommission my old Revell road bike circa 1983 (it cost about £300 then which was a lot of money). It has a Reynolds 531 frame and forks and has been stored in a dry garage unused since about 1987 so I'm hoping it's worth an upgrade.

A quick test ride this week proved it to be a revelation. It weighs 4 kg less and has skinny wheels so feels very responsive. However, it also revealed a couple major problem compared with my MTB - namely appalling brakes (Weinmann sidepulls) and quite high gearing (Suntour 10 speed components). The gearing I can live with for now but the brakes, even with careful adjustment, new rubber pads and cleaned wheel rims, are lethal.

I'm pretty handy mechanically so fancy a new set of calipers and maybe levers. What would you suggest bearing in mind that funds are tight - ideally about £50-£75. Thanks for any ideas,

Comments

• rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    I think Tektro make the most obvious modern alternatives. For my Raleigh Record Ace I might see if I can get period Campag brakes which maybe will look the part and work a bit better but, to be honest, I don't find the Weinmans lethal! But then I only tend to use that bike for quiet weekend rides.

Please don't ditch the Suntour (unless you are going to give it to me!) - Suntour produced the finest gears you could get at the time; forget Campagnolo Record; Suntour Superbe and Cyclone were better and lighter. You should be upgrading your legs before you spoil the bike with inferior gears!
    Faster than a tent.......
  • elcani
    elcani Posts: 280
    Check whether the current brakes are secured to the frame with a nut or the more modern sunken allen nut. If it's the former, you could use something like these (if the drop is right)...