Ammaco bikes

13»

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Holy thread resurrection Batman! Despite two posters confirming that Ammaco bikes are indeed a pile of poo, I'm surprised the OP hasn't been back on to blame them for their misfortunes, for actually riding the thing and expecting them to function normally....so not only do they look like cr@p, they are just cr@p.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Seeing as appears to be the longest (and most informative, unfortunately) thread on Ammaco bike anywhere on the web, I figured I should give my two cents on the brand.

I needed a bike for university, and seeing as bike thefts are very common in town and students are generally encouraged to spend less than 300 GBP on the entire bike, I bought an Ammaco Ethos from Cycle King for 130 GBP. It was my first bike in about 10 years so I am by no means an expert.

I have used it as a commuter to get to and from town for lectures. I have cycled around 4 miles a day, 6 days a week, in approximately 10 week bursts for the past year and a half, and I have to say that it does the job just fine. My route is mostly asphalt, with some dirt paths, brick roads, and more than a few potholes on the way. There one significant downhill slope/hill climb on the route. I have cycled through a variety of weather conditions including rain, hail, snow, and icy roads.

There is a front suspension fork that is practically rigid 100% of the time, the Shimano RevoShift grip shifters work quite well, and the brakes are terrible. I have not had a single tyre puncture in all the time I've had the bike (I weigh about 50kg with gear included).