New to MTBing any tips welcome

Dinkie1981
Dinkie1981 Posts: 5
edited September 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all, just thought id introduce myself, im new to this Mtbing lark, but having the weight steadily creeping up i decided it was time to do something about it, and seen as my work introduced a cycle2work scheme i thought why not, so anyway got myself a Boardman comp today and went for my first ride tonight, not too far mind just to ease myself into it :o .
So any tips on how to improve my fitness and technique? think thats how you spell it, oh and any tips on how to help with the pain in my backside lol.
Thanks in advance, Darren.

Comments

• GT1984
    GT1984 Posts: 5
    I'm in a similar position!! Will be keeping an eye on this thread with interest!!

Good luck and stick at it!!
  • Will defo be sticking at it, cant wait to be fit enough to head for Dalby and the likes.
    Just never remember been this tired when i was a lad after going out on my bike, but that was some 15 years ago!!
  • GT1984
    Im the same about 11 years for me, basically once I could drive, stopped riding the bike, occasionally going out on the bike with the mrs etc, but time to get into it properly, i'm gonna start doing 3 or 4 rides a week, starting at 8-10 miles, what are your plans?
  • I'm about two months ahead of you guys, at first my legs were screaming and my ar*e too! I generally go out in an evening when the smaller family members have gone to bed, so I only get an hour or so of daylight and ride from the house, usually between 6 and 10 miles. I average 3 times a week probably, and the improvment in my fitness and technique in that time has been very encouraging with minimal effort.
    2011 Cannondale Trail SL 29er HERE
  • drumandguitar
    drumandguitar Posts: 74
    edited August 2011