Mountain Bike Jumping

walesm55716
walesm55716 Posts: 11
edited August 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi All,

I have a problem which is totally affecting my confidence when riding / attempting jumps / drop offs etc. I ride a Saracen Ariel 1 and when i take off from the jump my feet come off the pedals ( not slipping).

I am unsure whether this is down to my shock settings or technique ( personally i think technique). I have tried slowing down my rebound on the rear shock but to no avail hence my thoughts about technique.

I am relatively new to riding and got the bug in a big way but this as i said is totally affecting my confidence when riding and makng it less enjoyable than it should be.

Any help you could give me would be great!!!!!!!

Comments

• cee
    cee Posts: 4,553
    sounds like technique.

think soft knees and elbows

When you take off, the bike will be thrown upwards. If you are too stiff...it will then push you upwards, resulting in your feet coming off the pedals.

Allow you legs to bend, sucking up the bike as it comes closer to you. Then, when the bike starts to fall away, allow your legs to straighten a bit, so you are always connected and in control.
    Whenever I see an adult on a bicycle, I believe in the future of the human race.

H.G. Wells.
  • Practice makes perfect... ensure you have nailed the bunny hop and that you're doing it right with your feet pointed towards the ground. Here's some tips to help stop your feet slipping off pedals...

1. Ensure you have grippy pedals; something like DMR V8
    2. Ensure your shoes have a good tred pattern that gets a good grip on the pedal
    3. Position your feet on the pedals so the balls of your toes are roughly over the centre point on the pedal
    4. Point your toes towards the ground ensuring your feet are not flat (almost as if standing on tip toes)

The rest comes with practice....
  • 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    As Matty says, master the bunny hop first.