Why bib tights?

Gizmodo
Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
edited September 2011 in Road beginners
I'm a complete newbie to cycling (44 years old and trying to get fit after my 2nd round of chemotherapy). I'm happy with padded shorts and I've even bought the padded tights.

But what is the advantage or reason for "bib tights"?

Colin

Comments

• Secteur
    Secteur Posts: 1,971
    edited August 2011
    Welcome!

Do a search- has been discussed to death, but essentially bibs are better as they are more comfy and dont dig in at the waist / fall down. I wouldn't wear anything else.

Dhb brand (Wiggle.co.uk) generally come out best in terms of cost-effective performance. I wear Pearl Izumi ones, but when I buy my next pair, it'll be dhb's
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    the waist on normal shorts can be tight and uncomfortable so bib shorts are held up by the shoulder straps, not an elasticated waist
  • Its a good question, I have never worn any before, recently purchased these thanks to a thread on here...

http://www.mandmdirect.com/products-adi ... AD8244.htm

Going to try them out Thursday on a 35mile ride, I am hoping they are not as warm as my Altura baggies.
  • fludey
    fludey Posts: 384
    I also noticed you get a lot less draught on your lower back, with the wind we keep getting is a big plus :)
    Felt AR4
    Planet X Pro Carbon 105
    MTB Kona Kikapu Deluxe with a few upgrades!!
  • Also to mention, bibs are also much better because the padding doesn't slide around due it being held in place at the shoulders rather than at the waist, which is often moving about. Believe me, one ride with the shorts sliding around is enough to convince you! Your rear will love you.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    When you bend forward on the bike, your midriff/lower back is quite exposed - a bib tight gives you extra warmth without any restriction. Before bibtights we wore regular tights with clip-on elastic braces which was a right old faff.