Why are bottom brackets becoming so fragile?

2»

Comments

• stuisnew
    stuisnew Posts: 366
    Brig wrote:
    The BB30 bottom bracket on my 2011 Boardman HT Pro have also gone after 3 rides, total of about 25 miles in dry conditions). Could not ride it anymore as the noise was so loud it turned peoples heads as I came riding....

I'm no expert so apologies but are you sure that it didn't make this noise cause it wasn't fitted properly from new? Sometimes they almost 'bed in' when new...a tighten up and quick check and you could get rid of the noise.
  • just too say i brought a hardrock disc model 3-4 months ago roughly. silky smooth etc. i then did a long uphill ride standing up all the way and afterwards the bike suffered clicking whilst pedaling. People said to replace the pedals which i did and so on but the actual issue turned out to be the BB.

I finally whipped it out and replaced it yesterday with a £20 jobby and god what a difference. the bike is now smooth again.

which meant my bb lasted only 500 miles!!
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Could have simply needed bearings whipped out, cleaned and replaced.
  • The Spiderman
    The Spiderman Posts: 5,625
    My current HT2 is still going strong after 3 years.Did manage to kill an earlier one in less than 2 rides due to incorrect fitting.

All too easy to over tighten the preload............. :oops:
    2006 Giant XTC
    2010 Giant Defy Advanced
    2016 Boardman Pro 29er
    2016 Pinnacle Lithium 4
    2017 Canondale Supersix Evo
  • fatwomble
    fatwomble Posts: 117
    johnsav wrote:
    GXP bottom bracket have never failed for me and are cheap as chips

Agreed, got GXP on my all mountain and replaced once in 3 years, ridden in all conditions, mud, rain and dry.
    Once you get the tools, replacing an external BB is a 15 minute job, so it's also the sheer convenience of DIY that's a bonus too. GXP BB cups: £20, so not expensive at all

20 Months and mine was utterly shagged
  • S-M