Fine tuning Reba RLT Ti

portland_bill
portland_bill Posts: 287
edited August 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Ok first question: Am I correct in thinking that there are different types of Rock Shox Reba RLT Ti or is that wrong? When I'm looking for information, some sites seem to refer to them as a couple of examples Rock Shox Reba RLT Ti U-Turn or Reba RLT Ti 120? As far as I'm aware, the ones I've bought are simply called Reba RLT Ti and that's it.

Second question is: Where on earth do you find any info about tuning them? I'm a complete novice when it comes to suspension. I've never spent enough time thinking about it to properly understand it. I understand the basic principles of Sag, compression and rebound, but as for the way you tweak them to work alongside each other, it just goes over my head.

Problem is, the manual I got with them tells you how to install them and that's it. It didn't even tell me how to install the poploc (fortunately that's pretty obvious), and it certainly doesn't mention anything about the operating of them. I've been on the Rock Shox website and the only other literature you can get hold of is the technical manual which tells you how to take them apart, but again tells you nothing of operating them.

The main reason I'm bothered is basically coz I'm not huge but I'm well built and weigh just over 95kg. The pressure guide on the forks says 130psi+ for >90kg which is a little vague to say the least, but the lads who I was out with yesterday up at Thrunton were sayong those guides are for people who do little ash path tracks around lakes and the odd bit of light off-road and I'll need a good bit more pressure in mine to stop them bottoming out on decent trails.

But how much? Is it just something I'm going to have to keep playing with until I get it right? I was quite happy with the rebound I set it at yesterday, but I'm a little puzzled by the "gate" knob which sits on top of the lock-out mechanism. What the hell is "Gate"?