I must be able to go faster....

Keiron Curtis
Keiron Curtis Posts: 126
edited August 2011 in Commuting general
I've been commuting 40 mile roundtrip, 3 or 4 times a week, for 4 years or more, but I'm a 12mph plodder. With the influx of dozens more people commuting by bike like myself, I've become sick and tired of everyone flying by me. How can I go faster? I ride a 27 speed Raliegh Pioneer GT tourer, but with straight bar. Should I consider a more aggressive set up on the bike? Replace the bar with the original drops? By the way I'm a lzy sod.
k.curtis

Comments

• andysol
    andysol Posts: 125
    Maybe you know the answer to this. But you need to put more effort in! And alternate days slower than now. But you should be out of breath and sweaty on the days when you push it. A heart rate monitor may help you but you don't really need one, your body will tell you when you are pushing it.

You could use a simple speedo, and monitor average speed. Then try to beat it every day you try harder. But mix days of effort with plodding.

But enjoy it, if you enjoy plodding then whats wrong with that!

Depends on what youre target is.
    Andy
    Evidently i mostly have a FCN of 1. I'm now a lady!
  • Cheers andysol,
    As you say more effort, there's a word that frightens me! I hear what you say, and I agree, as long as I enjoy the ride, that's the main thing. But I will try this "getting out of breath thing" now and then. As far as heart monitors etc., I'm a real technophobe, read lazy there, gizmos just fall apart on me.
    k.curtis
  • The Ors
    The Ors Posts: 130
    I've been commuting 40 mile roundtrip, 3 or 4 times a week, for 4 years or more...By the way I'm a lzy sod.

You've just contradicted yourself there! :D

I think you're possibly being a little bit hard on yourself; 40 mile round trip is a fair old commute. Just remember that these guys that go flying past you are (statistically) going to be doing a far shorter journey.
  • Distance gives you form.