Shirt for work

CallumN
CallumN Posts: 2
edited August 2011 in Commuting general
Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have been cycling to work for the past 2 months or so 16 odd miles each way. However I am struggling to get a nicely ironed shirt to work. I have tried folding, rolling, and the likes, but without an iron at work I look like a state!

Someone must have a tip? Or is it a case of take a cache of shirts on the Monday in the car and use them during the week.

Thanks,

Callum.

Comments

• Vally7
    Vally7 Posts: 120
    Learn how to do shop folds like they have shirts on shelves. Mate of mine swears by this - I tried it last week, took my shirt in the rucksack and it was fine.
  • zenistar
    zenistar Posts: 75
    I tend to keep a stash of shirts at the office but I used to regularily carry shirts in my rucksack - shop folded and placed inside a plastic bag. Never had any issues with creases but it could also be down to the type of shirts that you use. All of mind tend to be of the non iron type, these tend to resist creasing more than standard shirts.
    2012 Brompton S6L
    2011 Canyon Nerve XC 9.0
    2001 Specialized Allez
    1998 Specialized Rockhopper FS - still going strong!
  • mossychops
    mossychops Posts: 262
    I use an Eagle Creek Fold It - works excellent, can carry a few shirts with no creases

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGsI1SyGqRM&playnext=1&list=PLCFB9C82FDE13F35B
  • DrLex
    DrLex Posts: 2,142
    I roll a folded "normal" cotton dress shirt and carry it in a small dry sack in the bottle cage; comes out fine. Perhaps a shirt with an easy care finish, as zenistar indicates, would assist?
  • mouth
    mouth Posts: 1,195
    Read something about a guy who had a deal with the laundry near the office and just took them there to get them washed and ironed, thus never carrying them. Failing that, don't you have a secretary?
    The only disability in life is a poor attitude.
  • djcook1
    djcook1 Posts: 13