Mud Gaurd advice for Specialized Secteur

tim_wand
tim_wand Posts: 2,552
edited August 2011 in Commuting general
Any one run a Spesh Secteur with gaurds and can make an experienced recomendation.

Tyres are going to be 25 mm Schwalbe Duranos and I ll more and likely be riding with a rear rack too.

Comments

• davenice
    davenice Posts: 72
    Hey.

Well. Funny you should ask. I have some experience here ;-) I mainly commute and my criteria really are not getting water splashed up my back and spray from the front wheel in my face. (I don't race or ride in groups).

I started with the Crud Road Racer Mk2. I spent 30 mins on it but couldn't get this to fit without rubbing (although I think people claim you can) so I sold them on ebay. (I gave up pretty early on because I was keen not to damage/mark them, for resale value).

I then moved onto the SKS Race Blade. I was able to get them to fit by sliding things round a bit and bending the arms a touch (because of the angle/bend of the seat stays it was difficult to get them just right). However I found they slipped a bit occasionally and rubbed on the tyre (although since I've screwed the screws in it's not such an issue). Also my rear light is a light tube style thing (attaches to the seat stay) which doesn't work well with them. Added to this, I had to use a number of cable ties instead of the rubber bands which meant that after I removed the 'guards from winter it was too much of a faff to put them back on for the odd rainy day.

So. My final solution is the BBB Road Protector (http://www.bbbparts.com/proinfo3.php?N= ... =EN&Y=2011). This is more like the MTB style guards that just stop water flicking up. I really like them - had to bend the front one a touch to get it in the right place without fouling the gear cables. I haven't ridden in torrential rain but riding through light rain and on wet roads they've been really good. Plus it takes me about 10 seconds to fit or remove them. GREAT!