@ Northern Monkey

ddraver
ddraver Posts: 26,661
edited August 2011 in MTB general
As our resident Sport Scientist...

What is the difference between Rego Rapid - http://www.scienceinsport.com/public/sh ... selprod=19

And Normal Rego - http://www.scienceinsport.com/public/sh ... selprod=11

Which should i use between laps of a 24hr race and is that the same for after a marathon for example..?

thanks
ddraver
We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
- @ddraver

Comments

• Hactualyy.... I have a degree in Nutrition and Sports Science... but whose counting :wink::lol:

Without looking at the specific concentrations, I would say that the Rego Recovery (Normal Rego?) would be best for between laps o the 24hr race.

Main reasons are because it lacks in creatine and contains ascorbic acid.
    Creatine may lead to dehydration or the feeling of dehydration but there is a lot of controversy about that... creatine is more for muscle building/recovery/training though.
    Ascorbic acid will be essential for such a long race and will help reduce cramp and lactic acid build up.
    The Recovery is also stacked full of amino acids which can help reduce fatigue and help maintain stamina.
    The carb content isn't too high to make it hard for the body to absorb and there seems to be a good level of natural salts.

The rego rapid would definitely be my choice to have after the marathon. More protein, contains creatine and less electrolytes.
  • Tim.s
    Tim.s Posts: 515
    Sorry to cut in but......

What do think I could drink to help avoid cramp? I suffer quite badly with cramp in my thighs normally after riding when im relaxing in the evening but I do a few enduros and I have suffered during the ride in the past.

The guys at my bike shop recommended adding a product which contained salts to my camelbak, I know salts help cramp but is it worth it? Also can I add these products to my normal energy drink?

Thanks, Tim.
    "Didn't hurt"
  • Briggo