Bike Insurance Claim - Question

shockedsoshocked
shockedsoshocked Posts: 4,021
edited August 2011 in The bottom bracket
Basically had a run in with a Skoda which resulted in one mangled bike and a broken clavicle (woohoo).

Two days later, I get offered a job. Can't take it as I can't move my arm. With me being a student, I rely on working through the summer to get some money together for the following year. Being unable to do that, I am now royally skint.

Now, my bike is insured for 6k. My solicitor has all the details, and the police are on my side completely (a few witnesses who all berated the driver in error for speeding immediately).

Basically, what I want to know is, can I strip my bike (full DA) and sell the parts to raise some money? The bike is a write off, no doubt about it, as frame is visibly cracked. The insurance from the guy who wiped me out might want to see it though and inspect it though.

Any suggestions?
"A cyclist has nothing to lose but his chain"

PTP Runner Up 2015

Comments

• redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    As you had a job offer you had to turn down, loss of earnings can be added to the payout.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • redvee wrote:
    As you had a job offer you had to turn down, loss of earnings can be added to the payout.

Already got that sorted! But pay out won't be till sometime next year! :cry:
    "A cyclist has nothing to lose but his chain"

PTP Runner Up 2015
  • Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    I'd lay off selling the parts until it's been inspected by the driver's insurance company. In fact, some insurance policies state that if you claim a new bike after a smash or theft then you agree to pass ownership of the the old bike to the insurance company*. If that's the case with your policy then no you can't sell the parts!