Ball-park advice on second hand road bike

markread
markread Posts: 7
edited August 2011 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm new to the forum, but my googling indicates there's a lot of know-how amongst its members! I need some rough advice or opinion, fast if possible...

I've been thinking about getting a basic road bike for getting around my city on, I have a mountain bike but I'm looking for something with more speed, and I like the idea of road bikes. I dont think I'm going to be doing anything particularly long distance.

I spent a year working part time in halfords when I was younger and know a bit about bikes, but I'm no expert. I came across a second hand Merlin road bike today. Its not a new model, shifters are on the bottom tube of the frame, not STIs, but its had some modifications. Weight seemed ok, and its had some modifications. The break calipers were double pivot and looked like quality new stuff. The wheels were mavics, and again looked reasonable and newish. The drop bars had been replaced with a narrow (getting through traffic?) angled bar. No front derailer (fine with me, never use it on my mountain bike anyway), and the back was not new. They're going to replace the cassette, and I'm considering asking them to place a decent quality close-radio road version on it. I'll go test ride it on Monday, but would like some opinion from the community, if possible.

Asking price is £200. I think this is probably slightly high, there are some new components but its not a new bike. I dont know how good the brand actually is, its made in leeds. Is a crappy new bike frame (ie, £200-300 worth) roughly equivalent to the better quality steel frames of 20 years ago (assuming this is...)? I recon I'll try to get the price down to 160, and might seriously consider that, but what does everyone else think?

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Best,

Mark

Comments

• FSR_XC
    FSR_XC Posts: 2,258