Question regarding Defy 2 tyres

mickyc1
mickyc1 Posts: 37
edited July 2011 in Road beginners
I have recently bought the defy 2 from my local bike shop and was wondering about the tyres i am new to road biking the tyres are below.

Giant P-R3 Flatguard 700x25mm front/rear specific compound : Would these be slicks?

Excuse the ignorance but i,m used to mountain bikes would these tyres be dangerous in wet conditions and if so what should i get.

Thanx in advance for any help. :wink:

Comments

• Essex Man
    Essex Man Posts: 283
    Road tyres are too thin to aquaplane so slicks are good wet or dry.
  • mickyc1
    Thanks Essex Man :wink:
  • I thought the Defy 2 came with Kenda's... which are made of CHEESE!!!
  • The defy does indeed come with giants own rubber fitted. The tyres on my defy lasted about 90 miles before getting seriously deformed - especially the rear tyre. I'm now running conti gator skins which are much better.
  • anto164
    anto164 Posts: 3,500
    I thought the Defy 2 came with Kenda's... which are made of CHEESE!!!

2010 came with Kendas, 2011 came with Giant tyres.
  • mickyc1
    The defy does indeed come with giants own rubber fitted. The tyres on my defy lasted about 90 miles before getting seriously deformed - especially the rear tyre. I'm now running conti gator skins which are much better.

90 Miles only thats not good ,thought they would have lasted longer than that :shock:
  • mickyc1 wrote:
    The defy does indeed come with giants own rubber fitted. The tyres on my defy lasted about 90 miles before getting seriously deformed - especially the rear tyre. I'm now running conti gator skins which are much better.

90 Miles only thats not good ,thought they would have lasted longer than that :shock:

Yeah, if I had bought the bike locally I'd have taken them back. As it happened I had the gator skins lying round in the garage anyway so it didn't cost me to change them.