Pedal for Scotland 2011

linnibob
linnibob Posts: 17
edited July 2011 in Road beginners
Hey all

Im a relative newbie to cycling and i have signed up to my first sportive in Sept and to say im am cacking in it is putting it lightly only as i have no idea what to expect

Really looking forward to it though, Did anyone do it last year or have signed up from this year. Anyone know if its a hilly route :)

Any advice :)

L

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Might be worth sticking the post in the Sportives/Audaxes/Training area...
  • Omar Little
    Omar Little Posts: 2,010
    I havent signed up yet but intend to do so nearer the time

It is not particularly hilly although if you are new to cycling those sort of distances then a small hill can seem like a mountain when your legs are tired so i am reluctant to call it flat. But generally nothing too scary :)
  • linnibob
    linnibob Posts: 17
    tried that area and noone replied so i thought i would try here too :)
  • mowflow
    mowflow Posts: 212
    A guy I worked with did this event a couple of years ago. He and his wife borrowed some cheap mountain bikes and did it. They both smoked like chimneys and drank like fish and they had no problems doing this event. I wouldn't worry about it, from doing their marketing for them several years ago it's more a family fun day out than anything else.
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,804
    mowflow wrote:
    A guy I worked with did this event a couple of years ago. He and his wife borrowed some cheap mountain bikes and did it. They both smoked like chimneys and drank like fish and they had no problems doing this event. I wouldn't worry about it, from doing their marketing for them several years ago it's more a family fun day out than anything else.

There are three events, a 9 mile spin round the park, a 53 miler from Glasgow to Edinburgh and the 100 mile sportive from Glasgow to Edinburgh - I can't see that pair doing the latter tbh.