18 year absence from MTBing & "newbie" questio

fuji-la
fuji-la Posts: 9
edited August 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I guess I'm a newbie but I was heavily into bikes in my youth and was mountain bike obsessed in my teens (the era of Girvin FlexStems and drooling over the GT RTS1 in MBUK).

I will spare you my lifes story but lets just say 18 years is a LONG time in mountain biking so I am rediscovering it all over again. Last weekend I bought a new bike (a Fuji Tahoe 1.0) after an hour dithering in Evans Cycles in Crawley. I have used it every day since purchase and will be going out on it again shortly (anyone in Tadworth/Epsom parts of Surrey by the way?)

My first questions are:

1) I am used to almost completely straight handlebars like were the norm in the early 90's. These swept back/angled bars are a new thing to me. I already think the reach is about an inch too short on my bike but have been advised against getting a longer stem as it "messes up the handling". Would putting a set of straight bars on be a good way to give me the extra reach?

2) Where did bar ends go? I never see 'em anymore. Every bike I've ridden without them feels incomplete.

Lastly, MY GOODNESS how good are disc brakes? Good riddance to the spongey old v-brake system!!

Comments

• Looks a great bike. I'd probably give the bars a chance offroad (if you've not already) before thinking about changing anything.

You can get bar ends if you want to add some bling. I am guessing you mean what I call end caps? I used to have some on my old MTB. They stopped the mud getting into the bars and such, but I don't bother with them these days. Just clean out the bars at the end of the ride and things seem ok.

Seems there are some good rides out your way. Have fun!
  • fuji-la
    Thanks, yes I agree I should probably get some more trail time in before I go tweaking things.

By bar ends I mean these...

carbon%20bar%20end.jpg
  • xand_xand
    xand_xand Posts: 271