Winter gear help

joelsim
joelsim Posts: 7,552
edited July 2011 in Commuting general
Hi all. I'm pretty new to commuting but have really caught the bug and am trying to do it every day I can (sometimes not possible for work/family reasons). I got a Boardman Hybrid Pro on the C2W scheme and have bought various stuff which of course all adds up.

So I have:
- clipless pedals and dhb M1 shoes
- CatEye lights, decent ones plus extra Knog LEDs for even more flashing
- Catlike helmet
- 2 pairs padded lycra shorts
- spare tube, puncture repair kit, water bottle etc

In addition I've just bought an Endura Venturi jacket and Altura Night Vision overtrousers, and I was given an Icebreaker 200 base layer as a gift.

What else do I really need to get before the cold weather sets in? Assume that I will average 3 commutes per week except when it's icy, each commute being at least 13 miles each way, possibly 18.

And what would you recommend for each thing. I'd rather buy fewer, better quality items than lots of rubbish that will wear out quickly. If I'm still using the kit in 3 to 4 years then so much the better. That's not to say I want to be paying fortunes for everything though, value is more important than price. I need to get saving I think...

Your experience would be really helpful. Thanks

Joel

Comments

• joelsim
    Sorry, I've also bought Conti Gator hardshells too.
  • anton1r
    anton1r Posts: 272
    You look well sorted to me, you can always suppliment your cycling specific stuff with normal clothes if needed.

The only thing that i'm not seeing on your list is some nice warm full finger Gloves.
    "I have a plan, a plan so cunning you could stick a tail on it and call it a fox." (from the Blackadder TV series)
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Yup - gloves are the obvious omission. Don't skimp on gloves either. And, whatever you do, don't buy Sealskinz waterproof gloves.