Wire or folding?

georgef88
georgef88 Posts: 30
edited July 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi newbie here I'm after some new tyres but what is the difference between wire and folding and what would the benefits of folding be?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Folding use kevlar beads - save a fair bit of weight for the money.

Also usually have better compounds and carcasses.
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    It's the material used in the bead of the tyre. Wire (also known as 'rigid') tyres use a steel cord in the bead. This means that you can't put folds into the tyre (e.g. for storage) as this will permanently damage the bead.

Folding tyres use a Kevlar cord in the bead. This can be folded up, making the tyre easier to store. These tyres also tend to be a bit lighter.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    No one really needs folding tyres for their folding nature. The main benefit as Supersonic mentioned is weight. Its the best place to save it so folding tyres all the way!
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • shm_uk
    shm_uk Posts: 683
    As an example, from their official website: Panaracer Fire XC Pro 2.1Tyre

Wire (Steel) Bead = 700g (although I've seen 780g quoted on Wiggle)
    Folding (kevlar) Bead = 590g

As stated previously, by buying a folding tyre you're saving weight where it's most effective.

Ultimately it comes down to what you can afford or justify spending ...
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    SS made another good point, often it's not just the bead that's different, where a company makes a folding and a wire version of a tyre often the wire one is budget all round.

Take, frinstance, Kenda's Nevegal- the wire OEM spec one is absolutely awful, the compound's like plastic. The folding one is good, but doesn't share any part of the design other than the tread pattern and even that doesn't work the same because of the other differences.