Newbie!

ajvdberg
ajvdberg Posts: 4
edited July 2011 in Commuting general
Hi all,

Am a complete Newbie here - please excuse me if this is a stupid question, but am completely new to all of this! I wanted to start using a bike casually for commuting etc. I have read up about this and as far as I can see a Hybrid bike would be my best option.

I have been looking at bikes, then today while in Halford's someone brought in a carrera vulcan bike but it had smaller tyres on, almost like a road bike. I then looked around for this particular bike in the store and when I found it saw it is a mountain bike with fat tyres on it.
Can you please advise if 1) this would be a good bike and 2) if it is worth looking into getting the wheels changed out?

Thank you in advance!
AJ

Comments

• joelsim
    joelsim Posts: 7,552
    You probably need to tell us about your usage, how far is the commute etc etc

The more people know, the better they can advise.

I'm a noob too, and people are very helpful on here.
  • Hello ajvdberg and welcome,

As joelsim says, the more info you can give the better the recommendation is likely to be. I suspect the majority on here will not recommend Halfords - some of their higher range bikes are OK, but their sales and technical service don't have a great reputation.

Many here will also steer you away from hybrids but until we know what you intend to use it for we ought not judge.

Similar questions have been asked before so spend a little while browsing past posts and you may pick up something useful.
    Nobody told me we had a communication problem
  • ajvdberg
    Thanks for the replies guys.

The journey to work will be around 14/15 miles each way. I also want to use it to cycle to my parents house each weekend which is around 13 miles each way. Mainly using it on the roads, not really into off roading which is why I figured a hybrid bike would be best.