It's that question again...

mountaincookie
mountaincookie Posts: 292
edited July 2011 in Commuting general
Insurance. It's that little question that keeps popping up.

I'm finally getting round to insuring my bike, I havn't used it as it has no insurance (you only make that mistake once....£500 gone....ouch ). My bikes worth £500 plus around £100 upgrades. I don't want to insure on my house insurance as I'm a student and move alot :evil:
I'm going for public liablity too, what specific companys would you advise/not advise

I also want to insure my wife's bike (£250) - same policy or seperate?

Cheers

(p.s. - I know theres hundreds of posts on insurance...but alot of them suggest home insurance...)

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    M&S house insurance covers all contents away from home (inc bikes) and if your a student that includes when your in student accom.

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Is there a limit to value of bikes in M&S policy? The value of my bikes is probably about £6k, and when I've looked to insure them the annual policy has been close to 10% of this.

I have taken the view that I take more care than post (park / store them somewhere safe and use good locks) therefore are less likely than average to have them nicked. At a pinch I could afford to replace so have effectively chosen to self-insure.

I have not had an incident where I would have made a claim in the past 10 years (touch wood) but would insure if I could do so for a fair price.
    Nobody told me we had a communication problem
  • jeremyrundle
    jeremyrundle Posts: 1,014
    If you know it has been asked before you must know there are many replies, try a search

CTC :!:
    Peds with ipods, natures little speed humps

Banish unwanted fur - immac a squirrel