Quick gear question for my new bike

Coxy_UK
Coxy_UK Posts: 297
edited July 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Took my Canyon out for its first ride, all great except it was often reluctant to change up front from the middle ring to the small ring.

Sometimes it did, sometimes it didn't and so obviously need just a minute adjustment.

Anyone know what I need to do please?

I'm a noob with gears, not tried adjusting any in years now and I don't wanna get that right only to find I've inadvertanly messed up other gear changes.

Also noticed that after one ride a cable has gone through the anodizing on the frame :( It comes with protective stickers and I applied helicopter tape elsewhere, but this one place is a pain. If they insist on anodizing the frame, they should at least protect all the relevant areas.
_______________________________________________________________________________________
Tides of sin draw tighter and brighter, hours become heavier and weighted, and the shadows smile...dark and wild.
<font color="blue">My Stumpy FSR Pic 1</font id="blue">
<font color="red">My Stumpy FSR Pic 2</font id="red">

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Coxy_UK wrote:

Also noticed that after one ride a cable has gone through the anodizing on the frame :( It comes with protective stickers and I applied helicopter tape elsewhere, but this one place is a pain. If they insist on anodizing the frame, they should at least protect all the relevant areas.

and that is why it come with them.

re the gears sounds like too much tension.

have a read of the info on Park Tools.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Coxy_UK
    nicklouse wrote:
    and that is why it come with them.