Lights for commute

tbaker
tbaker Posts: 13
edited July 2011 in Commuting general
Hello,

I'm new to communting to work and finding with the wet rides home (plus for the darker evenings in the winter) I could do with a set of lights.

I've been looking on Chain Reaction Cycles and not really sure what I should be looking for.

Has anyone got any experience with a specific set of lights. I'm thinking I would like a set which I can charge via mains.

Pricewise, no more then around £30.

Thank you!

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    I would suggest a light that takes rechargable AA batteries rather than one with a built-in battery and dedicated mains charger - when they are flat, their useless. With ones that take AA's you can easily carry spares. Also, built-in batteries will inevitably deteriorate / fail, often with no easy user-replacement.

I would steer clear of anything "Cateye" unless you want to pick the pieces off the road when the clamp fails (and get Zero support from Zyro).

I use a Fenix L2D CE torch and a Lockblock mount, have been doing so for years, very versatile. I use 2900mah Vapextech batteries and a smart charger. For the rear I use Smart 1/2 watt Superflash, takes 2 AAA's. These lights unclip fast and fit in the pocket, and the Fenix has multiple other uses. There are newer / brighter models, but I feel no need to upgrade, it is more than bright enough and I even used it on a 13 mile unlit railway path commute.

A bit over budget, but there are some cheaper alternatives and other options. Have a look at "The new what lights thread".
  • tbaker
    Thanks for the advice.

I couldn't find the ones you mentioned, but I've been looking at these:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=42475

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=42464

The one pair are double the price, so just trying to see if they are worth the extra £'s.
  • alfablue