MY front brake is also usless

Time.to.ride
Time.to.ride Posts: 463
edited July 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, having seen a similar post i wonder if i can attain some help with a similar prob?

I just had my juicey 3 front brake bled as it was nearly touching the grip without much effort, the rear brake is still very stiff and needs practicaly zero effort to apply although it does squeak slightly when you move the bike very slightly, my LBS reason for both probs is as follows: front had air and needed bleeding, the rear THEY said was still at factory setting hence being so stiff as apparently they come that way, and once bled you cannot get them quite the same.
So i had the front bled (as i said) and it made no bloody diferance! i can still nearly pul it to touch the grip, the mechanic says that Juicey 3 brakes ARE ment to feel tht way, now im no expert but even to me it feels very soft although i do have grip when applied, and second is the comment about the rear brake correct

Help appreciated!

Comments

• estampida
    estampida Posts: 1,008
    so eliminate all unknowns

swap pads over from front and rear - make sure the pads are not weird or summit

cleaned the disks and all that jazz

if air is getting into the system its a connection somewhere (hoses or cylinder's)

if you are not getting the pressure to disc, either sticky slave cylinders, if it was leaking you would see find fluid on pads / pistons or the master cylinder seal is leaking, so oil is returning to resi rather than going down the hose to caliper

I would buy a bleed kit as you will save cash big time, and check youtube for a tutorial on servicing.
  • Time.to.ride
    Done, Done, not happening, and nope

Anything else
  • Rigga
    Rigga Posts: 939
    It sounds to me like your LBS haven't bled it properly. I would take it back and tell them its no better or buy a bleed kit and do it yourself. An avid bleed kit can be got for 35.99 or a cheapo one off ebay for about 11quid.