Mountain bike dilema! advice appreciated

flyer
flyer Posts: 608
edited July 2011 in MTB beginners
I have been using a Road bike for about 5 years but have never really enjoyed the geometry. It was a Roubiax so pretty much the most relaxed road bike available. I feel much more comfortable and in control with a flat bar.

I had an accident last year and injured my back so sold the Roubiax. Now back to full health I wanted a bike that would do a bit of off road (disused railway lines etc) but also be able to use on the road about 70% of the time.

My local bike shop recommended the Scott Scale 20, so I bought it and put some Continental Travel Contact semi slicks on.

I anticipate the odd off road and about 3 twenty milers per week on road.

The main reason the LBS recommended the Scott was its very light (20Ib) and you can lock the forks.

My dilemma now is a friend said this bike is NOT for what I am using it for!!!!

It’s off the road high performance trial bike and that’s where it belongs; now he’s a downhill suicide biker!!!

But does he have a point?

My LBS said he will take the bike back but his choice is very limited to another Road bike or similar mountain bikes, I hate hybrids! Boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any advice appreciated

Flyer

Comments

• Keith1983
    Keith1983 Posts: 575
    I'd say forget what your mate says. If you're happy with it then stick with it!
  • jon87uk
    jon87uk Posts: 158
    What kind of off road riding are you going to be doing?

If you want maximum efficiency on road then a mountain bike will always have draw backs but if you want to tackle some more challenging off road sections then the Scale will be one hell of a bike.