Hard Tail or Full Suspension for a newb

browner911
browner911 Posts: 7
edited July 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi ther, I have done a fair bit of reading other threads on here and some helpful and some not. Im a beginner to moutain biking, coming from motocross and supermoto i will not be a complete beginner. Thing is ive only started to look into this as my works doing the cycle2work scheme so im all but forced to shop from Halfords. Ive got a bugdet of about £800 give or take and wanted advise on weather i should get a HT or FS, possible bikes from there include Carerra Banshee X FS, Furry* HT, Boardman Comp and a few other Boardman biikes. I will initially start off just messing about on it, but want to have a crack at a bit of downhill, now the tracks near i live are nothing major a few forest tracks etc few jumps etx but nothing like some of those pro tracks on youtube.

Which would be best to go for, ive heard scare stories abuot the basshee X in that its a entry level full susp bike and will crumble under stress? Havin said that would a good hard tail for the same price take the same pounding.

Are there other specif bikes out there not from halfords in the same price range i would be beter going for? perhaps i can get teh c2w company to source them?

Cheers in advance :D

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If you want to do proper downhill, you need a bike that can cope. None of your options will, though the Banshee is better suited than the others. It will however be heavy and awkward on easier XC trails.

You need to think about what the majority of your riding will be.
  • FunBus
    FunBus Posts: 394
    from a motorcross back ground i'd guess a decent full susser would be right up your street, but, brand new they'll come at a higher price tag than £800.

If you hadnt mentioned C2W, i'd have said go second hand.....