breathing with goggles

brynmor
brynmor Posts: 6
edited June 2011 in MTB general
Does anyone else struggle breathing through their nose whilst wearing goggles? and does anyone have a solution?
I have always struggled with goggles in this sense even when skiing and so usually wear glasses, however with taking up DH this will not always be possible.

Comments

• Soul Boy
    Soul Boy Posts: 359
    I'm no expert, but don't wear them over your nose????

:lol:

Sorry, I've got my coat.
  • bearfraser
    bearfraser Posts: 435
    Sounds a little weird ,sorry about being Noseist but do you have large nose, do you snore a lot c/w sleep apnoea . might be worth getting a Nose Doctor to have a look at your Nassal cavity and sinus's
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    breath through your mouth, you can get a lot more air in that way.

:wink:

I don't even try to breath through my nose when riding, I just can't get enough oxygen in.
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • Horton
    Horton Posts: 327
    bearfraser wrote:
    Sounds a little weird ,sorry about being Noseist but do you have large nose, do you snore a lot c/w sleep apnoea . might be worth getting a Nose Doctor to have a look at your Nassal cavity and sinus's

I don't think it's that weird - they kind of do exactly the opposite of those weird semi-sprung plasters that some sportspeople wear over the bridge of the nose to help them breathe more easily...

That said, my skiing goggles don't bother me or impede my breathing at all (they're relatively expensive Spy-optics, where as my cheapy £30 Fox MTB goggles make it feel a little bit like I've got a blocked nose.

I'd recommend trying some different makes and models but always make sure you try them whilst wearing your helmet so you know how they'll fit.
  • brynmor
    thanks for your replies.