Used forum sales , standard sizes, mix n match etc etc

Ezy Rider
Ezy Rider Posts: 415
edited June 2011 in Road beginners
Im an avid guitarist in my spare time, and if a guitar is made up of different components from different makers, we call it a partscaster. I recently completed a great deal with a fellow BR member , whereby I got a new fizik arione kium at a terrific price and Im going to fit it to my Trek 1.1 . It got me thinking one day id like a roadbike weighing in around 16-17 lbs weight and I could achieve that by building a partscaster bike that wouldnt involve the kind of cash that a costly higher spec carbon would. I could fit my double compact hollowtech and fit the handbuilt wheels that I already own. This brings me to the mindfield that is the frame :shock: I am sure there are great guys here who sell great items at great prices and Id be willing to take the plunge. Im sure that when it comes to buying a frame to make your own partscaster that standard sizing flies out the window as a lot of brands use their own sizing. Im a complete clutz with my hands and id leave the construction to the LBS for sure.

Have members here at BR ever sold nice frames , say in 54cm size, at competitive prices and that could be easily used to build a partscaster without component sizing and fitting nightmares ?

Comments

• STEFANOS4784
    STEFANOS4784 Posts: 4,109
    Nice frame? Check out the Tommassini in the 'your bike' section. Do you class that as 'nice'
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614