How to improve

calonuk
calonuk Posts: 78
edited June 2011 in Commuting chat
My commute is a 26 mile round trip. I usually cycle a minimum of 3 days but average 4 - 5 days a week on a Cube hybrid with 700x35c, and average 14-15.5 mph. I weigh in at 106kg (lost 6.6kg since cycling : D )and normally have a at least a 5kg back pack on the pannier. I have been cycling for about 3 months now and lately have been feeling disappointed with my speed and ability to reduce my time on my journey ranging from 50-55mins each way.

What is the best way to improve without reducing weight on the bike or changing to a road bike. (before anyone suggests :lol: )

exercise.png

Comments

• Agent57
    Agent57 Posts: 2,300
    Losing weight from your body is effectively losing weight from the bike. 15mph seems a fine average for commuting, especially as it's often stop/start. Chances are you'll get faster as you get lighter anyway, as your power to weight ratio increases, but if you really want to do something specific maybe you could incorporate interval training into your commute to try and boost your aerobic capacity.
    MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)
  • kamiokande
    kamiokande Posts: 55
    Thats not bad going considering the 5kg added weight. Firstly, ensure your tyres are at proper pressure, if they're knobbly then you could consider getting some slick (as long as your commute is all on tarmac) or narrower tyres although I can't see them knocking much time off. The best way, of course, is to just keep it up, you'll get quicker and it'll cost nothing!
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Mantra:

It never gets easier, it just gets faster

Patience young padawan :wink:
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003