Career advice

HAllez!!
HAllez!! Posts: 13
edited June 2011 in Road beginners
Hi my name is Harry, i'm 14 and i've been doing cycling for just over 4 months now and i've found out that i'm actually quite good at cycling. I fancy persuing a career in cycling and would just like a bit of advice to get me started.

Thanks

HAllez!!

Comments

• Keith1983
    Keith1983 Posts: 575
    When you say a career in cycling I presume you mean racing? I am far form an expert on this but I would suggest you try out a few different disciplines and see which you like the best. You can then concentrate on this specific area of racing and train for it.
  • kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    Join a club - see if you can get in there race squad. - or see if you can find a local track league - and take it from there
  • 1) Get this book

2) Race, race race!

If you go racing down in London, you'll meet loads of Juniors there who travel all over the country to race- get to know some of them and you'll soon find yourself integrated into the "community".

P.S - You'll soon find you spend more time on the British Cycling website than you do on facebook.
  • Berk Bonebonce
    Berk Bonebonce Posts: 1,245
    Be a good amateur racer in the UK. Then go and join a good amateur club on the Continent, like in France or Italy, living in cheap accomodation and doing a job to make some money. The UK is not the place to be if you want to ride a bike for a living.

PS Remember me and my advice when you are rich and famous, and send me your yellow jersey you get in the Tour de France.
  • lyn1
    lyn1 Posts: 261
    Be a good amateur racer in the UK. Then go and join a good amateur club on the Continent, like in France or Italy, living in cheap accomodation and doing a job to make some money. The UK is not the place to be if you want to ride a bike for a living.