Crank Bros eggbeater pedals - any good?

02gf74
02gf74 Posts: 1,170
edited June 2011 in MTB general
... bought a bike with these fitted and am quite impressed by the simplicity and ofcourse the weight so am thinking about changing over.

What are peoples experences of these type of pedal?

Are the cleats compatible across the range of eggbeaters? (I would need quite a few pairs :shock: )

Comments

• Tank-slapper
    Tank-slapper Posts: 968
    Wouldn't use any other type of pedal and, yes, the cleats are the same.
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    I like them. The old ones need a bit of TLC to make them last - the outer bearing has a tendency to collapse at which point the body can slide off the axle, which isn't pleasant. I've been using a pair for 2 years though and have filled them with grease about 3 times in that period and they're still fine.

New ones are far more durable.

Check out Ward Industries ti spindles to make them significantly lighter for little money.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I've had a pair for 18 months and to be honest ?I haven't serviced them at all. Still seem to be going strong.

Only thing I've found is the cleats seem to wear out quicker than other makes.

Cheapest place seems to be here. Create a account and you can get them for £29.
  • andrewyzfr6
    andrewyzfr6 Posts: 194
    I got a set free with a bike a few years back, and found them an accident waiting to happen. I HATED them. But I have been using SPD's for nearly 20years, so I am biased. I can get out of spd's in my sleep without thinking, but i found the egg beaters difficult to say the least. Like a lot of other things, if your used to it, its fine. Im the same with Sram shifters, as Ive been using Shimano ones ever since I had mountain bikes .
    2011 Orange 224 evo race
    2009 Orange 5 pro
    2008 Scott Scale 30
    2002 S-works m5 fsr
  • njee20