Dented top tube, advice appreciated!

MTBSKiD
MTBSKiD Posts: 34
edited June 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi guys, I think I may have trashed my Anthem X and just wanted to get some opinions. I have no real experience with dents as this is my first.

I foolishly forgot to raise my brakes when I swapped my stem round the other night and managed to crash the day after. Resulting in the brake barb smashing into the top tube and leaving this gouge:

p4pb6756165.jpg
p4pb6756173.jpg
Is it to dangerous to ride? I managed to complete a 15 miler after with no change but I'm still concerned =( Not sure If I can get it fixed. Cheers for any advice!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    yep I would say it in new frame time.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • MTBSKiD
    Yeah I thought as much =( Bit devastated tbh lol. No chance to get that repaired then I assume?
  • Dirtydog11
    Dirtydog11 Posts: 1,621
    You might be able to get a front triangle but it would probably cost nearly as much as a complete replacement frame. Gutted for you mate :( .

.....................................slopes off to check brake lever/ top tube clearance.
  • wordnumb
    wordnumb Posts: 847
    Condolences for your loss.
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Dirtydog11 wrote:
    .....................................slopes off to check brake lever/ top tube clearance.

Me too. Been playing round with stems and spacers and have to admit I never checked the tube clearance. :shock:

Gutted for you fella does your contents insurance cover crash damage to your bike might be worth checking. I have just payed an extra £65 a year to get my bikes covered for accidental damage on top of the theft cover.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I looked long an... it's dead.
  • Andy B