Inner tubes?

El Selb
El Selb Posts: 137
edited June 2011 in Commuting general
Hi, I'm new to road cycling, although I now cycle into work each day. I'm out of inner tubes and just looking on the net....I can get some airwave tubes for 2.99 although you can pay a lot more. Are the airwave 'bargains' going to lead to loads of punctures?! Do you get what you pay for?

Comments

• Vegeeta
    Vegeeta Posts: 6,411
    You do generally get what you're paying for up to a point....

I work in a Trek dealership and we sell Bontrager tubes naturally, I certainly haven't had a problem with these. When I worked at Halfords we had Continental, Michelin and Bikehut tubes.

I was asked to use Bikehut/Halfords tubes only in repairs and they quite often died at the seams when you got up to road bike pressures. When I told my manager I was going to use the Continentals that's when I stopped having problems.

I'd say the best bet is to go with either a standard Bontrager/Michelin/Panaracer/Specialized/WTB/Continental tube which should be around the £6 mark as a minimum.

I prefer usng Bontrager light weight tubes which are usually around £8 and I have no additional punctures.
    Rule 64:

Cornering confidence generally increases with time and experience. This pattern continues until it falls sharply and suddenly.

http://www.velominati.com/blog/the-rules/
  • gbsahne001
    gbsahne001 Posts: 1,973
    when you say you're running out, are you not repairing the ones that you're swapping out?
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Vegeeta wrote:
    You do generally get what you're paying for up to a point....

I work in a Trek dealership and we sell Bontrager tubes naturally, I certainly haven't had a problem with these. When I worked at Halfords we had Continental, Michelin and Bikehut tubes.