Setting Up Front Mech - 2 Questions 1 Post

mickeygtlover
mickeygtlover Posts: 47
edited June 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I have just purchased a New Shimano XTR Front Mech for my GT XCR 1000, I am new to this mountain bike building business, so if there is anyone in here who can help it would be much appreciated.

I have watched loads of videos on youtube to try and solve this issue myself but I just cant do it and everytime i try i come up with another question?

1. How do i know the front mech is positioned properly?
2. I can get the chain to move up from Little Cog to Middle Cog but then it doesnt move up to Big Cog (if i alter the screws H+L i can get this process to reverse, but then it doesnt go to the little cog?)
3. Could it be my chain is too long?
4 If so how do I know how long the chain should be?

I know one answer would be take it to a shop but i want to be able to do it on my own and so far I have done pretty well with my first build as I have done everything apart from the above. Please Help.

Thanks in Advance

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Chain length round big/big not wrapped around mech plus 2 links.
    Mech cage should be parallel to chainrings, about 2 mm above largest chainring.
    Set high and low screws with no cable tension (disconnect cable).
    Re attach cable and fine tune indexing.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Did you remove the little sticker from the outer cage yet? If not, good. The lines on that sticker need to match uP with your outer chainring.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    2. I can get the chain to move up from Little Cog to Middle Cog but then it doesnt move up to Big Cog (if i alter the screws H+L i can get this process to reverse, but then it doesnt go to the little cog?)