What should I be doing after a ride?

tomwardill
tomwardill Posts: 21
edited July 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I've been riding for a couple of years, and am now at the point where I feel I should be doing more maintenance than the odd squirt of GT85 on the chain and a power wash after each ride.

If I've been out riding, what should I do? I'm riding a full suss, so any hints with looking after suspension would be good, what lubricants I should buy, when to apply, etc. Bike is now roughly a year old, so what should I be checking/replacing?

Also, any idea roughly what time table I should be checking various bits? (Such as, after ~6 months, check that the bottom bracket isn't rattling, etc).

I've got the Zinn book, but while it's great for telling me to do stuff and diagnosing problems, it's not that great for a 'maintenance and care' timetable.

I realise it's not an exact science, but a rough guide for when to check/do stuff, and what to do directly after a ride would be fantastic.

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Have you got any manuals with the bike? Service intervals for parts are often listed.

You wanting to be doing a basic check of QR and bolt tightness before every ride.

Spin the wheels and check spokes say once a week.

I'd check bearings and pivots once a month. Usually just feeling for play or grittiness will suffice.
  • sharky1029
    sharky1029 Posts: 188
    POWER WASH :shock:
    if that is using a pressure washer thats not good.
    Gentle hose down to remove mud is all that is necassary.

Chain lube after a ride.
    Periodically clean the chain properly using degreaser.

And you should really check chain and cassette wear periodically but unless it is slipping its fine.
    And possibly bleed brakes every 6 months to a year.
    Check bolts aren't coming loose.
    And obviously check tyre pressures.
  • skaffen
    skaffen Posts: 72
    tomwardill wrote:
    and a power wash after each ride