Trek 142 x 12 confusion

aaronmroach
aaronmroach Posts: 341
edited June 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
After on spec buying my new Easton Haven wheels (got to wait for the rear to turn up another two weeks or so).

Trek have confused me something chronic!!

When I bought my 2010 Remedy 8 the spec sheet said 142 mm rear end, so when ordering the Haven wheels the LBS and I have ordered the 142 but they come with a 12mm axle so we ordered the 12mm through axle kit for my rear stays from the 2011 bikes (which Trek Rep say's should have been with the 2010 bike ???) and a 142 x 12 Shimano rear XTR axle P/No MADSMAX75A.

Being a curious young engineer I took the old wheel out and measured the overall axle length it came in at 135mm??

Here lies my confusion and need help as the tinternet is confusing me even more!!! All I can find is that Rock Shox maxle is the only one that will fit (not the maxle lite or shimanos XTR MADSMAX75A or anyones after market units) even though all the dimensions are the same and the thread is identical???? Also are the Hubs the same dimensions in width 135mm and its just the oversized axle-skewer thats 142mm due to having to go through 4 pieces of rear frame (LHS seat stay and DW stay and RHS seat stay and chain stay)??

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    142 is the OLD dimension IE between the stays. just like the 135 is the OLD and the distance between the stays.

what is the measurement with the 12mm drop outs on your frame?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • aaronmroach
    aaronmroach Posts: 341
    Just got off of the phone with the Trek rep!!!!

1. 135mm refers to the spacing between disc tab and deraileur tab (if you drew a vertical line up from each!!)