Should my SPD's do this

Catfish
Catfish Posts: 141
edited June 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all I've been useing spd's for about 18 months now on both my mtb and commuter bike.
I have shimmano M520 pedals on both bikes and started of with Wiggle DHB M1 shoes, all fine untill the weather got a cold and wet, so fed up with over shoes i got Shimmano MW80's.
After about 50 miles i noticed a grinding noise comming from the pedal area,
thinking it could be the bearings i serviced the pedals, this didn't help.
So to cut a long story short it turns out that the cleat is actually touching the pedal (metal to metal), this only happens on the MW80's and not the DHB M1's.
I tried contacting Shimmano through the web site twice but no responce.
So what i want to know is should the cleat be touching the pedal or is it a compatability issue between the M520's and the MW80's.
The thing is apart from the noise being anoying the contact between pedal and foot feels vauge and is off putting.
Not what you expect from shoes that retail for £145.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    they either touch or they do not. often it depends on how worn the shoe sole is.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Catfish
    Wow 170 views and only 1 reply.
    The shoes were brand new, infact they still have very little wear on the sole.
    Mostley used for commute so very little hike-a-bike.
    Just wandering if a pedal with a bigger contact patch, say the ones with a cage round them would give more support. the M520's only have two spots about 8mm square in contact with the shoe and the sole is soft so it gives way under weight, allowing the cleat to touch the pedal.
  • madmole
    madmole Posts: 466
    Have you checked that the cleat is tight and close to the shoe. Maybe its a little proud of the sole

Shimano shoes normally are a very good match for their peddles