Canary Wharf to Teddington (via Richmond Park), new commuter

Koncordski
Koncordski Posts: 1,009
edited June 2011 in Commuting chat
Hello, first post but as with most i've been lurking for ages. Finally got fed up of south west trains and/or driving slower than I can cycle so started commuting a few days a week. I've been building up my fitness in richmond park for 6 months or so, pretty exciting to be doing it.

It's 18 miles each way and the route is pretty straightforward, using CS3 out of canary wharf then heading south over tower bridge. Is there anyone else on here that does a similar route from Canary Wharf to maybe Clapham/Putney/Twickenham?

Only done a couple of days and already seen too many near misses so I'm building up a healthy anticipation for Taxis changing lanes without indicating!

Bike is a 6 month old Trek 1.1 (2010) with brilliant conti ultraskin gator tyres but otherwise standard. Hope to see some regulars on the route, it always seems like more bikes than cars on the A3 south from Elephant & Castle. 8)

#1 Brompton S2L Raw Lacquer, Leather Mudflaps
#2 Boeris Italia race steel
#3 Scott CR1 SL
#4 Trek 1.1 commuter
#5 Peugeot Grand Tourer (Tandem)

Comments

• keyser__soze
    keyser__soze Posts: 2,067
    Don't go over Tower Bridge, go via the Embankment, New Kings Road, Putney Bridge, Lower Richmond Road, Queens Lane, Upper Richmond Road, Priory Lane to the park. Quicker and easier route with fewer stops/junctions. Hundreds of forumites travel this way between the city/wharf and the park, myself included :)
    "Mummy Mummy, when will I grow up?"
    "Don't be silly son, you're a bloke, you'll never grow up"
  • cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    What KS said.

Welcome!
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,064
    cjcp wrote:
    What KS said.

Welcome!

You're a bad bad man :lol:
    Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.